Skip to main content


The Headteacher Representative Board is made up of the Chair or Representative of each Headteacher association in the six Local Authorities. Its aim is to act as reference point to ERW in terms of its interface with school leaders.

Purpose/Role of the Group:

To act as a reference point for ERW in terms of its interface with school leaders:-

  • Enabling ERW to test ideas and principles in advance of policy formulation and during policy development.
  • Advising ERW of potential strengths and weaknesses of proposed policies and strategies.  
  • Embracing and advocating a regional approach to problem solving.
  • Acting as a general conduit for information, using the aide memoire.
  • Feeding back to relevant headteacher groups on a regular, agreed basis.
  • Receiving the views of headteacher colleagues on agreed items.   
  • Not discussing every issue facing the region with every colleague.

Catrin Thomas​

Enw / Name ALl / LA Swydd / Post
Karen Lawrence Powys Cadeirydd/Chair 
Gethin Sutton (Special Schools Rep) Abertawe / Swansea Headteacher - Ysgol Pen y Bryn
Russell Dwyer Abertawe / Swansea Headteacher - St Thomas Primary School
Nigel Jones Abertawe / Swansea Headteacher -Gowerton Comprehensive
Ray McGovern Sir Benfro / Pembrokeshire Is-Gadeirydd / Vice-Chair
Headteacher - Greenhill Secondary School
Rob Edwards Powys Headteacher - Newtown High
Tracy Senchal Sir Gar / Carmarthenshire Headteacher - Coedcae Secondary School
Dorian Pugh Ceredigion Headteacher - Ysgol Henry Richard
Catrin Thomas  Cereidigon Headteacher - Ysgol Gynradd Aberaeron